Close Menu
National 5
You are here: Subjects > Physics Department > National 5

National 5 physics is studied over 1 year in S4. It is divided into 3 units:


  • Electricity and Energy which contains topics on electricity, energy transfer, heat and the gas laws.
  • Waves and Radiation which contains topics on waves, light, electromagnetic spectrum and nuclear radiation.
  • Dynamics and Space which contains topics on forces, Newton’s laws and space.  

More information on the course structure can be found on the SQA website.


At National 5, pupils will need to pass 3 unit assessments and an external exam. Pupils will also be assessed using a written scientific report and a research report. All assessments will cover knowledge and understanding of chemistry as well as problem solving skills.


The assessment of National 5 pupils is split into 2 sections: an assignment and an external exam at the end of the year. Further information on the external exam can be found by clicking the link on the right hand side.


Pupils will also receive regular homework and revision throughout the year covering each topic. These documents can be found by clicking the relevant sub-section on the right hand side.